Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
What are Point of Care Resources?
Point of care resources offer highly-structured clinical decision tools that allow information on diagnosis and treatment to be quickly retrieved at the point of care. These resources synthesize and evaluate the most relevant evidence from the primary clinical literature, and they include detailed summaries of a wide range of conditions and interventions, rationale for patient care decisions, and links to original studies.
Which Point of Care Resources are Available?
Resources founded by healthcare providers and researchers to provide high-quality, evidence-based information about complementary and alternative therapies. Formerly Natural Standard and Natural Resource Comprehensive Database, now merged.
TRIP Database Pro
TRIP database is a free clinical search engine for you to find and use high-quality clinical research evidence. In addition to research evidence clinicians can search across other content types including images, videos, patient information leaflets, educational courses and news. We have access to TRIP Pro through UC Libraries; this greatly enhanced version includes coverage of peer-reviewed journals, medical images and patient information leaflets, and is updated monthly. Available as an app for Apple iOS, click here for details.
You can contact UpToDate's End-User Customer Support by emailing email@example.com or by calling 1-800-998-6374 or +1-781-392-2000 Monday through Friday, 7am - 9am (UTC-04:00).
Searching for Guidelines
TRIP Database Pro
TRIP Database claims to have one of the largest collection of clinical guidelines and you can filter them by country.
World Health Organization (WHO) Guidelines
The development of global guidelines ensuring the appropriate use of evidence represents one of the core functions of WHO. Recommendations that can impact upon health policies or clinical interventions are considered guidelines for WHO purposes.
ECRI Guidelines Trust (requires free registration)
This website is a practical resource to review existing clinical practice guidelines in a centralized location. Key components of the site include links to full-text guidelines and an assessment function that explores the rigor and trustworthiness of each document. This website was built by the team that developed and maintained the AHRQ National Guideline Clearinghouse, which is no longer available.