Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Endnote: Import references from databases

PubMed

After doing a literature search in PubMed you have the option to import your references directly into Endnote. To add your references to your Endnote library:

  1. Go to PubMed and perform your search
  2. Check the boxes next to the article(s) that you want to save.
    For multiple searches, save items to your Clipboard, a temporary storage space in PubMed by selecting the Clipboard from the Send To menu. 

     
  3. When you are ready to add these references into Endnote,
  • In the upper-right hand corner of your search results go to Send To using the scroll down bar
  • Select Citation manager
  • Next click the Create File button.

3. Choose Open with Endnote X8 (or your current version of Endnote) or Researchsoft Direct Helper. Click Ok and in the Choose Destination window choose either Endnote or Endnote Web (your Endnote Online account if you have one) and click OK. Your references will import into your Endnote library.


undefined   

Scopus

After doing a literature search in Scopus you have the option to import your references directly into Endnote. To add your references to your Endnote library:

  1. Go to Scopus and perform your search (you will need to login to UC to access Scopus)
     
  2. Check the boxes next to the article(s) that you want to save.


     
  3. Click Export at the top of the page under Analyze search results
  4. In the next box choose:
    • RIS Format (Endnote, Reference Manager) from Select your method of export.
    • At least Citation information-feel free to add anything else from the other lists that seem useful
    • Click Export

  5. Click Open


     
  6. Choose Endnote in the Choose Destination bo and click OK.

Google Scholar

 Google Scholar is a freely-accessible search engine that provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature and identify the most relevant research after trying our other search engines (e.g. PubMed). Make sure to check the information that you imported as you might need to change some information.

1. To get Google Scholar preferences go to http://scholar.google.com or go to Google.com and choose Scholar from the drop down menu box under, More and then Even More at the bottom of the list.

2. Next go to Settings located to the right of the search box.

 

 

 

 

 


 

3. Go to the Search results on the left hand side. In the Bibliography Manager section at the bottom of the page, choose Endnote and then click on Save. This creates a new option to download a reference into your bibliographic manager.

4. This creates a new option to download (import) a reference into your bibliography manager (Endnote or Refworks) underneath each result. Perform your search as usual. Find the reference that you need. To add the reference into your Endnote library click on Import into Endnote.

 

 

 

 

5. When the pop up box opens use the scroll bar to choose Endnote X8.

6. In the next pop up box choose Endnote for your Endnote library.

Web of Science-Video

OVID (includes Medline and several other databases)

After doing a literature search in OVID- you have the option to import your references directly into Endnote. To add your references to your Endnote library:

  1. Go to OVID and perform your search.
     
  2. Check the boxes next to the article(s) that you want to save.
     
  3. Click on Export or click on the folder icon to add them to the folder.Click on the folder icon at the top when you are ready to put them into Endnote.
  4. Choose:
    • Export to: Endnote
    • Select Fields to Display-choose the fields the you need and click on Export Citation(s) to save.

Ebscohost (includes CINAHL, Alt Healthwatch and SPORTDiscus)

After doing a literature search in Ebscohost you have the option to import your references directly into Endnote. To add your references to your Endnote library:

  1. Go to the Ebscohost database of your choice and perform your search.
     
  2. Click on the Folder next to the items that you want to add to Endnote.
     
  3. Go to the Folder on the top right of the page and click on it.
     
  4. Choose Select all items or check the box(es) fo the items in the folder that you want to add to Endnote.
     
  5. Click Export on the right side of the page
     
  6. In the export manager page click on Direct Export to EndNote is RIS Format and click Save on the left side of the page.
     
  7. Click Open With and choose Web Export Helper (default) from the drop down list. Mark the check box for Do this Automatically for files like this from now on.
     
  8. Click OK to save.