Skip to main content

Endnote: Endnote for Beginners

What is EndNote

Welcome to Endnote. Endnote is a reference management tool for searching, organizing and sharing your research creating bibliographies and writing papers

COLLECT

  • search hundred of online resources for references and PDFs
  • find full text in one click
  • import records from PubMed with the new direct export format

COLLABORATE

  • Share groups, references and documents
  • Hand-off Word files with full reference files

CREATE

  • format references for any project with CITE WHILE YOU WRITE®
  • search and annotate PDFs
  • Create uniform citations and footnotes with new formatting tools

Learn EndNote in 6 Minutes

EndNote X8-Windows Full course (one hour)

EndNote: The Short Course

Removing Duplicate References

It is important to remove duplicates from your EndNote Library to ensure that each time you cite a reference you use the same version of the citation and don't end up with more than one listing in your bibliography. These instructions will guide you through using the automatic duplicate removal function in EndNote and how to find the additional duplications manually. Different databases may use symbols vs words, type authors names differently, or even have different years listed for the same reference due to epub versions of references that are released sooner than the final version. 

Move Citations from PubMed to EndNote

Creating EndNote Groups

Endnote and CWYW

Find Full-Text in Endnote

Endnote includes a wonderful feature called Find Full Text. This feature will check:

  • PubMed LinkOut
  • Web of Knowledge full text links
  • DOI (Digital Object Identifier)
  • Pratt Library Journal Portal

Endote will find the PDF and attach it to your reference. Remember, Endnote cannot link everything we own or to UC e-journals so you will still have to check both portals before requesting an article from Pratt Library.

To add this features full capabilities to your library follow the directions below:

In Endnote go to:

  1. Edit>Preferences>Find Full Text
     
  2. Check the boxes of all options (DOI is not necessary but can be helpful)
     
  3. Paste the link below into the Open URL Path box
    http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?profile=pfi
     
  4. Click Apply (or Ok)


     
  5. To run Find Full Text in Endnote highlight the reference or references that you want to check. If you have more than one reference, highlight the first reference, hold down the ctrl key and continue choosing the rest of the references in your library.
     
  6. Right click and choose Find Full Text>Find Full Text (or Go to References>Find Full Text>Find Full Text).
     
  7. Click Ok when you get the pop-up window with the Endnote Find Full Text copyright and usage notice.


     
  8. Look at the bottom of your screen on the left side in the Find Full Text section. You will see Endnote looking for PDFs and URLs. Endnote will let you know not only if it found something but it will add the PDF or URL into the appropriate fields.

 

 

 

 

 

Manual Entry