Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Google Scholar Search
Searching for full text articles can be challenging. Google Scholar is a great place to search the literature quickly but is also an easy way to start your search for full text articles. Google Scholar, a free tool, indexes scholarly literature in various publishing formats and subject specialties. It allows you to begin your search for full text access to articles just by setting a few preferences. Anything you cannot access immediately through Google Scholar can be searched for via the Pratt Research Library Full Text Finder (aka Journal Portal).
To set up your preferences go to Google Scholar.
- Click on three lines on the top right
- Select Settings on the bottom left.
- Click on Library Links.
- In the Show library access links for box, type in Cincinnati.
- Click the search ().
- Check these boxes:
- Edward L. Pratt Research Library- Full Text@ Pratt Library
- University of Cincinnati - Find Full-Text at UC
- Click Save located at the bottom right.
- Conduct your search.
In this example an article title was searched.
Pro tip: Use " "s around the title to keep the words together, in that exact order!
If the Library has access to the article a link will appear on the right.
- Click on Full Text@Pratt Library.
- In the next screen:
Chrome - Click open the page in a new window
Firefox - Click Go to Full Text Finder Results on the top right.
- Click on the link Find full text from OhioLINK Electronic Journals Center...
Look for a PDF somewhere on the page and click on it to get the full-text.
- For this example it is on the left side.
No luck finding what you need?
Anything that you cannot access immediately through Google Scholar can be searched for in:
- Finally if you cannot find an article request
Please feel free to call or email Pratt Library (636-4320 email@example.com).