Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
CHOOSING A JOURNAL
Choosing a journal for submission of your research publication can be a daunting task. There are many ways to make that choice including:
- Readership and target audience (journal scope)
- Journal visibility i.e. impact factor of the journal
- Turnaround time of the journal (how long does it usually take from submission to publication)
- Acceptance rates
- Restrictions ie. some journals do not publish case reports
- Standard journal or Open access (see our Open Access guide for more information)
Tools for Vetting an OA journal
Beall's List of Preditory Publishers
While the popular Beall's Predatory Publisher's List went off-line in Jan 2017, you can link to the last Internet Archive copy dated Jan 11, 2017.
DOAJ is an online directory that indexes and provides access to high quality, open access, peer-reviewed journals.
Follow these guidelines to ensure you are choosing a reputable journal. This site is part of a campaign in response to predatory journals and includes the support of organizations such as Association of Learned & Professional Society Publishers (ALPSP) and BioMedCentral.
Potential predatory and legitimate biomedical journals: can you tell the difference? A cross-sectional comparison
This cross-sectional comparison published in BMC Medicine in 2017 looks into the characteristics of possible predatory journals, as well as considers legitimate open access and subscription-based biomedical journals.
Journal Selection Tools
Cabells Scholarly Analytics
Cabell's "complete source for journal info, evaluation metrics, and submission details-for universities of any size. Real impact starts with finding the right audience." Includes a "The Whitelist" - legitimate publishers and "The Blacklist" - predatory publishers.
CLICK THE LINK TO THE UC CATALOG AND THEN LOGIN BEFORE CLICKING THE FINAL LINK TO CONNECT TO CABELL'S. If you do not login you will not be able to access this resource.
Edanz journal selector
Paste an abstract into the search box and Edanz will search over 28,000 journals and 7.5 milliion abstracts. The results include journal title suggestions and their impact factor based on the words used in the abstract.
Elsevier journal finder
Search by journal title or use the match the abstract to match your abstract to the best journal. Please keep in mind this will only search Elsevier products.
EndNote Online manuscript matcher
EndNote Online includes the "Match" tab which allows users to search for journal recommendations based on Web of Science metrics. Copy the title and abstract into the box and link to the EndNote reference group for the manuscript to see suggested journal titles. Requires a free EndNote Online account.
Journal/author name estimator
This website developed by The Biosemantics Group matches keywords from you abstract to locate the best matching journals, authors or articles using Medline.
Join this free site and use the "journal finder" that matches keywords of your abstract to appropriate journals.
SCImago Journal and Country Rank
SCImago is a portal that includes the journals and country scientific indicators developed from the information contained in the Scopus® database.
UlrichsWeb-Global Serials Directory
Ulrichsweb is an easy to search source of detailed information on more than 300,000 periodicals (also called serials) of all types: academic and scholarly journals, e-journals, peer-reviewed titles, popular magazines, newspapers, newsletters, and "more." Check this source to see if the journal is peer-reviewed or not.
The intent of this guide is to provide employees of Cincinnati Children's with information pertaining to scientific writing purposes only. Any content presented on other's sites are for user's convenience only and Pratt Library and/or Cincinnati Children's does not take responsibility for anything presented on these third party sites.