Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Symplectic Elements: Add Scholary Activities Manually

Manually entering scholarly activities

Another way to add scholarly activities into Symplectic Elements is to manually enter these items including but not limited to:

  • Journal articles
  • Books
  • Book chapters
  • Internet publications

There are the mandatory and suggested fields for each type of manually entered article:

  • Red asterisk or red star-mandatory field 
  • Blue star-suggested but not mandatory field

Types of Publications/Scholarly Activites

Type

Definition & When to Use

Required Fields ( in addition to already designated)

Book

Use when you are the author or editor of a published book

Author or editor, publisher, place of publication, publication date

Chapter

Use when you are the author of a chapter within a published book

Editor, book title, author of chpater, chapter title, publisher, place of publication, publication date

Conference

Use when you have presented during a conference

Author, Name of conference, conference start date

Dataset

Use when making available a dataset of which you are the lead creator, which has been published or made available publically

Description, publication date

Internet Publication

Use when you have an open access article or scholarly work via the internet or have contributed to a scholarly online source, ex Medscape or UptoDate. Only use this form if the work has not been made available elsewhere.

Author, title of web page or article, publisher, place of publication, publication date or last updated date, url

Journal Article

Use when you have published an article in an established Journal.

Author, journal title, article title,  volume, pages, date of publication, URL

Poster Session

Use when you have participated in an official poster-session associated with a conference or professional gathering

Authors, title of poster, presented at (title of confrence), date of conference

Report

Use when you are an author on a report which has been made publically available as part of a formal effort to contribute to the understanding of  or practice in an area of scholarly, research or clinical concern

Author, title of report, commissioning body, publication date

Software

Use when you have created software which has been released publicly as open source, or made available for licensing

Authors, title of software, place of publication, publication date

Thesis/Dissertation

Use when a Thesis or Dissertation has been accepted as part of the completion of an accredited degree-program.

Author, title, date awarded

 

 

 

Journal

Journal Article*-Steps:

  1. Go to Home tab-My Summary-+add
  2. Choose journal
  3. In the next box try searching the title of the journal article or the DOI. To find the DOI see the box in the second column.

    Symplectic Elements will first try to find a matching publication within our system (results show under In Elements) and then it will search the Online data sources (results show under In External Database e.g. PubMed) to try and match the journal article.
     
    1. If the search finds results choose the best item making sure that the information is correct.
       
    2. If the search does not return the journal article click Go to next step to start manual entry and fill in the appropriate fields:
       
      1. What is your relationship with this journal article-choose the appropriate option
      2. Sub types-choose Article or the appropriate sub type
      3. Title
      4. Authors-add all of the authors, one at a time, click Add until all authors of the article are added
      5. Journal
      6. Publication date-month and year
      7. Publisher
      8. Abstract-if available
      9. Volume
      10. Issue-if available
      11. Pagination-Begin page
      12. Pagination-End page
      13. Publisher URL-if available
      14. ISSN-if available
      15. DOI-if available
         
    3. Status-choose the appropriate status
       
    4. Click Save

*If you need to edit a publication follow these instructions:

  1. Go to Home tab>Publications and find the publication that you need to edit
  2. Click on the title of the publication
  3. Scroll down to the Data Sources Section
  4. Click on the Edit record (it has to have the unlocked symbol, if it is locked email Elements_Sys-Admin@cchmc.org to get the item unlocked)
  5. Make your edits and click Save at the bottom of the publication.

 

 

Book

Book-Steps

  1. Go to Home tab-My Summary-+add
  2. Choose book.    
  3. In the next box try searching the title of the book or the ISBN. See box in column two to find the ISBN.

    Symplectic Elements will first try to find a matching publication within our system (results show under In Elements) and then it will search the Online data sources (results show under In External Database e.g. PubMed) to try and match the journal article.
     
    1. If the search finds results choose the best item making sure that the information is correct.
       
    2. If the search does not return the book click Go to next step to start manual entry and fill in the appropriate fields:
       
      1. What is your relationship with this book-choose the appropriate option 
      2. Authors- add all of the authors, one at a time, click Add until all authors of the book are added*
      3. Publisher
      4. Publication date
      5. Editors-add all of the authors, one at a time, click Add until all editors of the book are added*
      6. Series
      7. Edition-other than first
      8. Volume
      9. Pagination-Begin page
      10. Pagination-End page
      11. Publisher URL
      12. Place of publication
      13. ISBN-10
        OR
      14. ISBN-13
      15. Status-choose the appropriate status
         
  4. Click Save

*The Author and Editor fields are not listed as mandatory although one or the other should contain names. An authored book should have the Author field containing names while normally the editor field should be blank. An edited book will only have the Editor field filled with names while the Author field for an entire book should be blank. In most cases you only have one or the other not both.

Chapter

Chapter-Steps

  1. Go to Home tab-My Summary-+add
  2. Choose chapter.  
  3. In the next box try searching the title of the book or the ISBN. To find the ISBN go to Amazon and search the title of the book.
    1. Symplectic Elements will first try to find a matching publication within our system (results show under In Elements) and then it will search the Online data sources (results show under In External Database e.g. PubMed) to try and match the journal article.
    2. If the search finds results choose the best item making sure that the information is correct.
    3. If the search does not return the book chapter click Go to next step to start manual entry and fill in the appropriate fields.
       
      1. What is your relationship with this chapter-choose the appropriate option
      2. Authors (of the chapter)- add all of the authors, one at a time, click Add until all authors of the chapter are added
      3. Book Tile
      4. Publisher
      5. Publication date
      6. Chapter number (if available)
      7. Editors-add all of the editors, one at a time, click Add until all editors of the book are added
      8. Series
      9. Edition-if other than the first
      10. Place of Publication
      11. Pagination-Begin page
      12. Pagination-End page
      13. Publisher URL
      14. ISBN-10
        OR
      15. ISBN-13
      16. Status-choose the appropriate status
  4. Click Save.

Internet publication

Internet publication-Steps

  1. Go to Home tab-My Summary-+add
  2. Choose internet publication. 
  3. In the next box try searching the title  or DOI of the internet article. See column two to find a DOI.

    Symplectic Elements will first try to find a matching publication within our system (results show under In Elements) and then it will search the Online data sources (results show under In External Database e.g. PubMed) to try and match the journal article.
     
  4. If the search finds results choose the best item.
  5. If the search does not return the internet publication click Go to next step to start manual entry and fill in the appropriate fields.
    1. What is your relationship with this internet publication-choose the appropriate option
    2. Title
    3. Authors-add one at a time, click Add until all authors of the article are added
    4. Abstract- if available
    5. Publisher
    6. Publisher URL
    7. Publication date
    8. ISSN
      OR
    9. e-ISSN
    10. DOI
    11. Status-choose the appropriate status
  6. Click Save

TRY THESE THINGS FIRST before manually entering items!

If Symplectic Elements cannot find a publication (it isn’t in the pending tab) try these things before manually entering an item:

  1. Search the title using the Manual Entry method (Add a new publication) and let Symplectic try to find the item.
    OR
  2. Go to Web of Science, Pubmed or Scopus and try to find the item. If it is in any of these databases get the unique number (WOS=Accession number, PubMed=PMID, Scopus=an number in the web address). Use these instructions in the Online IDs box to find and search in the Menu tab-Manage-Search Settings.
    OR
  3. Search the DOI (see instructions in the box below).

If none of these methods work, then manually enter the item. Here are a few tips:

  • Add all of the fields that have a RED * (mandatory fields)
    An item can be edited if some fields are missed by clicking on the title and choosing the Add manual entry (on the right) and updating the fields
  • In the author/editor sections add all of the authors/editors, not just your faculty member.
    You will also notice that Symplectic will match the name to the person at CCHMC (autofill will start to confirm an employee). This helps to make co-author connections.
  • Do capitalize (especially the author/editor names in order for Symplectic to match your person)
  • Do not use punctuation in the fields (e.g.. a period after the title or after author initials )

Search using a DOI

The DOI (digital object identifier) is the unique number assigned by the publisher to a publication that identifies the content and provides a persistent link to the publication on the internet. The ISBN (international standard book number) is a unique number given to a book that identifies the specific book and/or edition. Finding the DOI or ISBN is a good way to pinpoint the correct journal article, book or book chapter in Symplectic Elements.

There are several ways to find the DOI for journal articles, books or book chapters and the ISBN for books or book chapters:

  • Check Crossref (for the DOI)
  • Check an online database e.g. PubMed or Scopus (for the DOI)
  • Check the publisher’s website (for the DOI)
  • Check the first page a PDF if available (for the DOI)
  • Check Google or Amazon (for an ISBN-book or book chapter only)

Crossref Steps:

  1. Go to Crossref.
  2. Enter in the title of the journal article or book/book chapter.
  3. If the item is found, copy the only the DOI number e.g. 10.1016/0197-0070(89)90274-X.
  4. Continue the search in column one Journal, pasting the DOI in the search box.

Online database Steps:

  1. Go to Scopus or Web of Science.
  2. Enter in the title of the journal article or book/book chapter.
  3. If the item is found, copy only the DOI number e.g. 10.1016/0197-0070(89)90274-X.
  4. Continue the search in column one Journal, pasting the DOI in the search box.

    SCOPUS

    WEB OF SCIENCE

     

Publisher’s Website Steps:

  1. Go to the journal website (e.g. JAMA or Wiley Online).
  2. Search the title of the journal article, book or book chapter.
  3. Once the journal article, book or book chapter is found look for the DOI information on the page and copy the DOI number e.g. 10.1001/jama.2016.0288.
  4. Continue the search in column one Journal, book or book chapter and paste the DOI in the search box.

PDF steps:

  1. Open the PDF.
  2. Search the first page for the DOI (try ctrl F and type DOI to find). The DOI is generally on the first page either at the top or the bottom of the page.
  3. Copy the DOI number e.g. 101111/head.12654.
  4. Continue the search in column one Journal, book or book chapter and paste the DOI in the search box.

Internet search  Steps (this is only for books and book chapters):

  1. Search the title in either Google using quotes and add  the letters ISBN or search the title in the Amazon website.
  2. If the book/book chapter is found look for the ISBN (either -10 or -13) either under the image of the book cover or in the Product Details. Copy the number e.g. 143150354.
  3. Continue searching either book or book chapter in column one and paste the ISBN in the search box.