Skip to main content

Symplectic Elements: Automatic Claiming and Name-Based search

Adjust Name-based search settings

If the Claim or Reject section is too large clear your settings before adjusting any of the settings!!! If you reject them all AND an item in the list is actually correct you will have to go in the Not Mine tab and claim it. If you try to force it in using e.g the PMID Symplecitc will not add it because the item is technically in the profile, just in the Not Mine tab.

Once the settings have been cleared OR the Pending tab items have been claimed or rejected there may be some missing scholarly activities. There are several fields in My Search Settings on the home page that the author or delegate can adjust* to enable Symplectic Elements to more accurately find these scholarly activities:

  • Name variants-variations of the author’s name as it appears in scholarly activities
     
  • Addresses-names of current and previous institutions
     
  • Keywords-use words that describe the area(s) of discipline
     
  • Journals-journal titles
     
  • Specific article IDs-unique id assigned by an online database e.g. PMID in PubMed
     
  • Source-specific name based search terms-check sources that apply to the correct discipline

Make sure to Save all changes (located at the bottom of the page) and then click on Run my searches. Go back to the Home tab and see if any new publications are waiting to be claimed.

For more information see Symplectic Elements Troubleshooting-Guide for Search Settings (this includes how to find Online database IDs) in the box at the bottom of this column.

If you need more help please email Elements_SysAdmin and a team member will help you adjust these settings.

 

*It is not necessary to adjust all of these fields.

Clear My Search Settings

There are two ways to clear your pending publications list if the number is too high:

  1. Login to Symplectic
  2. In the Home tab and click on Claim publications in the MySummary Section.


     
  3. In the How do I use the Pending list? section, click on clear the Pending list.



    This enables you to clear the list, change the settings using the tips below and hopefully find more accurate publications. Unless your author has many publications it would take up too much time and effort to go through the list. If you reject an item incorrectly, find it later in a database and try to enter it using an online ID Symplectic won't add it because this item is in the Not Mine tab.

OR

  1. From the Home tab go to Administration.
  2. Click on Reset (clear) pending publications.

Now go to Search Settings and add at least Name Variants and Addresses as discussed in the second column.

Once changes are made

Once you have made your adjustments you will need to do this:

  1. Scroll to the bottom of the page and click Save, then scroll to the top of the page and click Run my searches.
     
  2. Go the the Home tab and click Refresh (to the right of the web address at the top) every few minutes on your browser.


     
  3. Once all of the databases have been searched the new publication(s) that you wanted to add will show up as new in red at the top in My Actions as well as next to the correct type of publication (e.g. journal) in the My Summary box. Click on either the new claim number in My Actions OR {number} pending under My Summary.  Claim the new publication. You may need to adjust your search settings several times to capture everything, especially if you are trying to add an entire CV. Remember to change Addresses back to Cincinnati once you are finished if any other Addresses were added in this process.

Multiple identifiers-Troublshooting

Do you have multiple identifiers?
If you have multiple identifiers in ORCID, Scopus or ResearcherID (now called Publons) you can associate or merge them together by request. Some IDs also allow you to request corrections as well. Cleaning up these issues helps Symplectic Elements automatically claim your publications.

 

Things to Keep in Mind When Changing Name-Based Search Settings

  • Each separate box with terms entered within the box will search using the Boolean term OR (broadens the search)
    e.g. (Kissling, AD OR Kissling, Alison D)
     
  • All boxes (e.g. Name Variants, Addresses, Keywords) with terms entered will search using the Boolean term AND (narrows the search)

Name-based search

In the My Account section under the Menu tab settings can be adjusted to more accurately pinpoint publications.

  1. From the Menu tab-My Account-Name-based Search.
  2. Adjust and add/delete settings in the various fields to get better results as discussed below:
  • As of the 5.16 upgrade, the author's name (e.g. one initial or two with the last name) must be listed in the Search Settings AND match an external profile (e.g. ResearchID, Scopus ID or ORCID) in order for Symplectic Elements to automatically claim a publication. 

    Example: A publication has the author Glauser, T and an ORCID. In Symplectic Elements in the Name-based search settings Glauser, T. A. is listed. The correct ORCID is in Automatic claiming. This publication will not be automatically claimed because Glauser, T. A. is missing from the Name-based Search section. By adding in this variation, if this happens again, the publication will be automatically claimed.
     
  • Use as many variations of the author's name as it appears in publications.
  • Use two initials if the author has a middle name.
  • For common names make sure to combine Name Variants with at least one Address.
  • If you are part of a Collaboration e.g. Epi4K Consortium you can list this in your name variants as well.
  1. Type in a name, last name, and two initials if possible without punctuation e.g. Kissling AD, one Name variant at a time.
  2. Click on the green + to add this Name Variant(s) to My Search Settings.
  3. Continue adding Name Variants as needed.

Addresses

  • Do not use apostrophes e.g. Cincinnati Children’s.
  • Do not use the full name e.g Northwestern not Northwestern University.
  • Try the name of a geographic location if an institution name does not work e.g. Hoboken or New Jersey.
  1. Type in the name of an institution or geographic location that the author was associated with when publishing scholarly activities, one institution or location, one at a time.
  2. Click on the green + to add this Address to My Search Settings.
  3. Continue adding Addresses as needed.

Keywords

  1. Type in Keywords that include broad terms describing the discipline or subject matter in which the author publishes, one keyword at a time e.g. Epilepsy. Seizure.
  2. Click on the green + to add this Keyword(s) to My Search Settings.
  3. Continue adding Keywords as needed.

Journal

  1. Type in Journals to pinpoint a specific journal, one journal name at a time e.g. Journal of Pastoral Care.
  2. Click on the green + to add this Journal(s) to My Search Settings.
  3. Continue adding Journals as needed.

Specific article IDs

  1. Type in online database identification number or id, one at a time (see Find an Online ID)
  2. Choose the Online Database IDs in which the id originated using the scroll down arrow e.g. PubMed
  3. Click on the green + to add this Specific article ID(s) to My Search Settings.
  4. Continue adding Specific article ID(s) as needed.
  5. Click Save and the bottom and the Run My Searches at the top of the page.
  6. Give Symplectic a few minutes to try and find the item

    • Symplectic will add this new information into an entry in the Mine tab if there is already a matching title.
      Click on the item and look at the Data Sources (the gear shift means manual entry) to see the new information added and the database icon.
    • If it is found and there is nothing that matches this item in the Mine tab Symplectic will add this new item in the Pending tab, ready to Claim.
      The Specific article IDs will disappear from My Search Settings once the item is found
  7. If you cannot find the item using this method go back and try the DOI or manually enter the item.

Source IDs

1. Check box next to SSRN (Social Science Research Network) if the author's discipline is in social sciences and/or humanities.