Skip to main content

Database Searching Tutorials: Further Information and Training: ERIC

This guide provides information about tutorials that are available to demonstrate how to use different scholarly databases

ERIC

ERIC - the Education Resources Information Center – is an online digital library of education research and information. ERIC is sponsored by the Institute of Education Sciences (IES) of the U.S. Department of Education. ERIC provides ready access to education literature to support the use of educational research and information to improve practice in learning, teaching, educational decision-making, and research.

 Publisher Created Tutorials

Click here for a publisher FAQ on using ERIC as a grantee or user. 

Click here for basic search tips on using ERIC.

User Created Tutorials

Click here to view video tutorials on how to search ERIC.  The videos below will walk you through how to search ERIC using the EBSCOhost interface.

PDF --- from Rutgers University

ERIC Thesaurus Overview

Tips for Using ERIC Online Submission System

Searching with ERIC

ERIC Search Page

EBSCOhost

As the leading database and eBook provider for libraries and other institutions — more than 375 full-text and secondary research databases and more than 300,000 eBooks and audiobooks available via the EBSCOhost platform — EBSCO provides unparalleled access to world-renowned content in all subject areas including magazine and journal articles available via EBSCOhost® . EBSCO’s content services the research needs of tens of thousands of customers representing millions of end users from K-12 students to public library patrons, from academic, corporate and medical researchers to clinicians and governments around the world.

Publisher Created Tutorials

  • Click here to view a video  to learn how to do a basic search, advanced search, use the thesauri, indexes, view results, save results, etc (07.40 min).
  •  Click here to view a full-page that displays a  range of tutorials. One may view them via: Video,  Adobe Flash,  and /or Microsoft PowerPoint.  Interactive quizzes are also available. This page shows how to use the databases that EBSCO offers and how to use the search features through the EBSCO interface.

Access Pratt Library Databases

The links in this guide are to the tutorials and information guides with instructions about how to use the databases and other resources available through the Edward L. Pratt Research Library.  To access the databases please visit the Databases Page of the Pratt Library website or you can also access UC Libraries databases through our affiliate access.