Skip to main content

Database Searching Tutorials: Further Information and Training: Cinahl Plus with Full Text

This guide provides information about tutorials that are available to demonstrate how to use different scholarly databases

CINAHL

CINAHL Plus® with Full Text is the world’s most comprehensive source of full text for nursing & allied health journals, providing full text for more than 770 journals indexed in CINAHL®. This authoritative file contains full text for many of the most used journals in the CINAHL index – with no embargo. CINAHL Plus with Full Text is the definitive research tool for all areas of nursing and allied health literature.

Publisher Created Tutorials

CINAHL Database FAQ - Page contains links to other useful information about CINAHL. Located below are three useful links that are already found on the FAQ. For full FAQ 

CINAHL+ with Full Text Help Sheet 

CINAHL Clinical Queries 

CINHAL Continuing Education FAQ

CINAHL Support CenterCentral hub for you to browse all of the available support documentation related to searching the CINAHL and MEDLINE databases on EBSCOhost. .

Tutorials (Video)

 

CINAHL Walkthrough Tutorial

http://fiu.v1.libguides.com/cinahlwalk

from Florida International University

----------------------------------------------------

http://utk.v1.libguides.com/content.php?pid=495895

from University of Tennessee

---------------------------------------------------

http://libguides.jchs.edu/cinahl

from Jefferson College of Health Sciences Library

How to Export Citations from CINAHL to Endnote

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=KWc-G_FIkFQ

from Duke University Medical Center Library & Archives

 

CINAHL Databases - Advanced Searching Tutorial (4:56)

Search Tips for EBSCO databases

Search Tips (EBSCO)

Searching tools help you adjust the focus of a search when using EBSCO research databases and interfaces.

The following links explain how to use Boolean operators, Field Codes, Wildcards, and Truncation. Also covered is how to use proximity searches, including phrases in searches, and single vs. plural searching.

Using CINAHL/MeSH headings

Using CINAHL/MeSH Headings (Text tutorial with images)

Subject terms are assigned based on article content, allowing you to create a targeted search. When you click the Suggest Subject Terms box above the Find field prior to conducting a search, your terms are searched against the CINAHL Headings or MeSH Headings authority, depending on the database being searched. From there, you can select headings and subheadings to refine your search.

Using CINAHL/MeSH Headings (5:06min)

CINAHL Databases - Basic Searching Tutorial (4:21min)

CINAHL CE Module

Did you know that you can earn nursing CE credit from the CINAHL database?

 

CINAHL® CEU modules are interactive educational modules that allow nurses to satisfy CE requirements online. They contain the latest topics on patient care and drug administration and are included in CINAHL at no additional charge. Each CEU module consists of course material, an interactive review, and a competency test with a certificate of completion.

Depending on the course, it can take from one to several hours to complete a CE course. Course materials may be read online or printed for study purposes. You cannot save a partially-completed course exam and return to it at a later time. To obtain the CE Units, you must take and pass the course’s CE Module exam.

When the exam is passed, the system will provide you with a certificate of complete. In addition, if the “Nursing Educator” field in your user profile is populated with the email address of your nurse educator and you elect to notify your educator by selecting Yes in the user profile, then the system will automatically send an email and your certificate to your nurse educator when a module is successfully completed. Certificates are good for two full years from the date of completion. (Check with your state’s governing body for specific information covering your area of practice.)

The taking of the exams and issuance of CEU credits is open to nurses and allied health professionals. Before taking the exam you will be prompted for your name and license information.

CINAHL® Information Systems is accredited internationally by the International Association for Continuing Education and Training (IACET) and American Nurses Credentialing Center (ANCC).

Access Pratt Library Databases

The links in this guide are to the tutorials and information guides with instructions about how to use the databases and other resources available through the Edward L. Pratt Research Library.  To access the databases please visit the Databases Page of the Pratt Library website or you can also access UC Libraries databases through our affiliate access.