Skip to main content

Symplectic Elements: Tour of Symplectic Elements tabs

Home tab-Persistent Header



The persistent header is the black band at the top of your screen and is located here on every tab and page of Symplectic Elements.

a. Login status-{Your name}-click it to see My profile
b. Log out-Click to get out of the system.
c. Impersonate another user-As an assigned delegate of an author, click here to search and find the author’s name to claim, reject and add scholarly activities.
d. Email-Check for system messages here.
e. Workspace-Click here to join (duplicates) and split publications (if information is incorrectly attached to an item e.g.)
f. Help-Click to find a link to the Centerlink Elements page, FAQs, videos and pdfs.


 

Welcome-Profile


Welcome-This section contains profile information. Click on the image to see more information. See Menu box-My Account-Profile for more information about the Profile page.

You now have the ability to add a photo using these directions.

 

My Actions

SLIDER VIEW

LIST VIEW

My Actions-This ‘action items’ area contains user tasks that need to be completed. Click the icon on the right to choose your view: slider or list.

  1. Contains items that you need to claim or reject.
  2. Optional opportunity to add your Scopus ID (click here for more information).

My Summary



My Summary-This section contains all publications claimed or pending.

  1. {Total number} publications, plus {total number} pending-Click to see everything claimed and pending (includes all types of publications e.g. book, journal articles).
  2. +add-Click to add a publication e.g. book, chapter, journal article.
  3. Publication history graph-This graph goes year by year and includes all claimed publications. To see desired list of publications according to the year click on the bar.
  4. h-index-Look here to review your h-index according to Scopus, Web of Science and Europe PMC. For more information on the h-index click here.
  5. Claimed publications-Publications that match your search settings and were claimed as yours. Sorted by type (e.g. books, journal articles).
  6. Pending -Publications that match your search settings and might be yours but need to be claimed or rejected. Sorted by type (e.g. books, journal articles).

 

Tour of Symplectic Elements-Video

Menu tab

Menu tab-Includes everything concerning your publications. There are four boxes:

  • Manage
  • My Account
  • Explore
  • Other

See detailed information about each box below.

Manage

Manage-In this area you can manage you publications

  1. Publications - Go directly to your entire list of publications
    1. Import - use .ris (found in Endnote) or .bibtex to add (import) publications not found by Symplectic.
  2. Create Links - Symplectic Elements has the ability to create relationships (links) between the different aspects of the author’s research. Links help show relationships between different areas of scholarly activities, grants or colleagues in the institution. This does not turn them into one item (that is the Join function) but "links" them. A good example is you write an original article and then a correction or an erratum is made to that original article.

My Account

My Account- The area where you can fine tune information about you in your profile as well as add information to help Symplectic Elements match publications to you, cutting out the claim or reject process as much as possible. You can also elect a delegate to claim or reject publication on your behalf.
a. Profile­-Search across all or specific divisions
    i. View profile-Click to view profile, publications, co-author graphic, links and to Find a colleague search box.
    ii. Edit profile-Click to add or change information in your profile including academic appointments, education etc.

b. Data Source Search
    i. Automatic claiming-This section allows the user to give Symplectic Elements information to help identify user’s publications and
      automatically claim them (skip claim or reject process) including say yes or no to external profiles e.g. ResaercherID and email
      addresses or adding them as needed,
   ii. Name-based search (previously named Search settings in the Manage box under Publications) -Add variations of a person's name including maiden names, one and two initials to better pinpoint publications.

c. Account Settings
   i. Manage delegates-Click here to add or delete delegates in this area. A delegate is a person assigned rights to claim or reject publications on your behalf. This person will also receive emails whenever there are publications to claim or reject.

 

Explore

Explore-This section allows the user to search all claimed publications in Symplectic Elements.

  1. System Search-Search publications across all or specific divisions
  2. Recent Publications-Search Symplectic publications for claimed publications during a specific time period and/or a specific division(s).
  3. Saved Searches-Check this area if you ran and saved searches using System search (a.).

Other

Other-The box is new in version 5.16 but the links are not. Previously all of these choices were located in the My Account box. This area allows the user to look at various areas that include actions you can take or launch.

a. Inbox-Messages from Symplectic (e.g.publications to claim or reject)

b. Workspace-Area to join duplicates of a publication or split items (incorrect information is in one of several sources).

c. View Login Announcement-See system announcements.

d. Impersonate-Impersonate a user (only delegates or a Division Point of Contact aka DPOC can see users in this option).

e. Privacy-Click to review Privacy level definitions.

f. Help-Includes a link to our Centerlink Symplectic Elements page and videos.

Research Admin tab (Restricted view-DPOCs only)

This Research Admin tab contains one box named Reporting.This tab is only available for DPOC (division points of contacts) to generate reports (Excel files) across the entire system, divisions or individual users.

Use this area with caution as searching by dates varies from database to database and is not exact as the publication date varies from database to database. The user will not have an precise report nor will you be able to generate reports using the Annual Report date standards (July 1-June 30) effectively. Please use MicroStrategy Reporting as found in Centerlink. Click the link for more information and to request permission to use MicroStrategy.

Basic Report

Search by user name, groups (e.g. divisions) and filter by dates. Choose from a data extract (e.g. Publication) and Users and usage (e.g. Approval Counts, User Profile Completeness, h-index) 

Group Statistics

Search by user name, groups (e.g. divisions), date filters, type of users, year range and citation source(s) (e.g. Scopus or Web of Science).

Comparative Statistics

Search this area to compare individuals or one division against another, filtering by year range and citation source(s) (e.g. Scopus or Web of Science).

5.16 Options in Research Admin tab

5.16

  1. Select users and/or groups (previously option 1 and 2 in 5.14)-now combined into option 1.
    1. i. Users
    2. ii. Groups
  2. Select additional filters (previously option 3-choices are the same)-now option 2.
    1. Date from:
    2. Date to:
    3. Include non-current:
    4. Include non-academic:
  3. Select and generate data extract or report (previously option 4.i Choose report: Data extract)-now option 3i.
    1. i. Date extract (new option)
      1. Object category – (previously Element in 5.14) some slight name variations
        1. Publications (linked to the select users)
        2. Grants
        3. Professional Activities
        4. Organization structures
        5. Projects
        6. Pieces of equipment (previously Equipment )
        7. Users
        8. Teaching activities
        9. Records of impact-(previously Impact)
      2. Publication type –(previously named Type) this section changes according to which Object category is selected.
      3. Return – changed to scroll down bar (5.14 had radio buttons: Simple rows, Elements, Links with users, Links with other objects)
        1. Publications
        2. Publications by linked user
        3. Links with users
        4. Links with other objects
      4. Display all fields –previously just a blue box- no changes to the actual content
    2. ii. Users, usage and summary reports (previously Choose report: Users and usage)-now option 3ii.
      1. Report
        1. Publication Approval counts (previously called Approval counts-now split out to Publication Approval counts and Grant Approval counts
        2. Grant Approval counts-new
        3. Associated ORCID IDs-new
        4. Claimed publication types
        5. Delegates
        6. H-index
        7. Logins
        8. Publications [ReferenceManager/Endnote]
        9. Publication summary
        10. Grants summary-new
        11. User profile and email privacy settings
        12. User profile completeness