Skip to main content

EDS: Ebsco Discovery Service: Accessing Resources from within EDS

A general users guide to using the EDS service.

Full Text Links

EDS displays several different types of Full Text links, in order to help users gain access to the full text of a resource.  Here are several examples and what they mean:

PDF Full Text: 

Clicking this link will start a PDF full text version of the listed resource to download onto your computer.  Check your My Downloads section of your computer if the PDF does not immediately open after downloading.  The PDF Full Text link is the fastest way to gain access to the full text of a desired resource and should be clicked on first.

University of Cincinnati Full Text:

Clicking this link will direct you to the University of Cincinnati and their online holding for the resource.  You will be asked to login with your UC login (see this article for instructions) and then you may click on the hyperlinked "Article" to be taken to the full text of the resource.

Pratt Resources:

Clicking this link will direct you to the Pratt Journal Portal journal entry for the resource.  From here you will have to navigate to the provider that has access to the desired years your article falls in to, then drill down to the specific article.

LoansomeDoc Request:

Clicking this link will take you to the National Library of Medicine LoansomeDoc request page.  This link will only appear for items that are indexed within PubMed.  For more information on how to setup and use a LoansomeDoc account please see this guide for instructions.

Publishers Site: e.g.

Clicking this link will direct you to the Publisher or Vendor's website for the resource.  This site may or may NOT provide a full text link for the resource.  Also, you may have to complete another title search within the publisher's site in order to locate the specific desired resource again.  Please note, this link should be tried last, as it is the least reliable.

HTML Full Text:

Clicking this link should direct you to the full text of a desired resource that is being made available via the web.  There will not necessarily be a PDF or full text version to download onto your computer- but should have a full text version you can read within your browser window.

Physical Library Items

EDS displays several ways to request/access physical items (books, DVD's, study guides, etc.) found in your search results.  Here are several examples and how to use them:

OhioLink Request Button:

Clicking the green OhioLink Request button will take you to the OhioLink catalog record page for your desired item.  From this page you can request the item be delivered to the Pratt Library where you can pick it up.  See here for more detailed instructions on how to request an item from OhioLink (skip to #3).

View in UC Catalog:

Clicking on this link will take you to the UC Catalog record for your desired item.  From there, you can easily request the item be delivered to Pratt Library for you to pick up by clicking on the "Request" button at the top of the record.  If you'd like more instructions on how to request a book via the UC Catalog, check out this guide (and skip to step #2).

Retrieve Catalog Item:

Clicking this link will take you to the catalog record for your desired item.  This may either be the OhioLink or UC catalog depending on your item.  From either catalog you can use the Request button to order the item and have it delivered to the Pratt Library where you can pick it up.

Online Access or Connect to Resource:

Clicking on this link will take you to an online source where the resource should be available.  There are multiple sources for ebooks, study guides, theses, stories, etc. and each source may appear different.  You'll have to search the online sources page to figure out how to view the desired item.

Contact Us

Email: prattlibrary@cchmc.org

Phone: (513) 636-4320

Office Location S9.125

Pratt Library Staff is available via phone, website and email: Mon - Thurs: 9:30am - 5:00pm Fri: 9:00am - 4:30pm or by appointment.

Online: prattlibrary.cchmc.org